To Move & To Travel

bidgerail _DSC0182

I’m a huge fan of Robert Louis Stevenson. My Dad encouraged me to read his book, Treasure Island when I was in my 20s and we took the tube to work each morning. It’s probably now one of my all-time favorite books. I love all the adventure and excitement in it! It really made my imagination picture each scene described. It was Robert Louis Stevenson, who said “For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move” and I think that fits this post perfectly.

8 thoughts on “To Move & To Travel

  1. Thanks for liking my post. Your blog is so beautifully designed – it’s an inspiration! I’m just learning how to do this myself – I’m learning how to use WordPress better next week.

    Can’t wait to follow you.

    • I still feel pretty new to it myself. Ive searched a lot of “how do i do such and such in wordpress” on google and its helped 🙂 Thanks for your message!! 🙂

  2. Stevenson’s quote on travel is what travel is about – the going and the doing and the participation within the world, something his characters had to do (often in order to survive). Kidnapped (and the going and doing’s of David Balfour) is the first of Stevenson’s novels that really held my attention through several readings and later audio-recordings as I cycled Edmonton’s river valley. It developed my sense for landscape and was perhaps written to whet one’s thirst for landscape settings (contexts) of Stevenson’s characters. While I like the architecture and contrast of colour with snow and sky in image 1, the colour of the winter sidewalk silhouetted against the sunset/sunrise recall N.C. Wyeth’s use colour in the illustrations of ‘Treasure Island’ and ‘Kidnapped.’

Leave a Reply

