Borders

Cherry Drops; Oct-14-2012; 9:00am; Rexburg, Idaho; f/10; 1/250 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Autumn Leaves; Oct-13-2012; 5:40pm; Rexburg, Idaho; f/10; 1/250 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Burned Border; Steps of Fall; Oct-14-2012; 2:00pm; Swan Valley, Idaho; f/11; 1/400 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Original

Leaf Drops; Oct-14-2012; 5:00pm; Rexburg, Idaho; f/10; 1/250 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Upwards; Oct-8-2012; 9:00am; Rexburg, Idaho; f/5.6; 1/800 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Original

Original Photo.

For this blog post I experimented with different borders. The first I used the brushed-on effect where I surrounded the entire image with a marguee and erased the image. I then loaded the History Brush Tool and using a thick brush I brought back the image. I then added text of the location. The last image was done the same as the first, only I used a square brush to bring back the original image and reduced the opacity of the white layer to show some of the image through.

The second and third images have flexible vignette borders. The first I also used a stroke to add another colour and line to the border. The third border I used the same colouring from the bark and made the border with a light opacity so the image can still be seen and used a mask to bring the ice drop forward where the border would otherwise have covered it.

Trying to do the Fine Art Template took me a few attempts! But im happy with the end result. I created a temple, using the Free Transform option to make rectangles with the same distance between them and then aligned them. I added my name and made a signature stamp adding it to the template. I then dragged over the image and used the Clipping Mask so that the image was inserted behind the frame template. I then changed the colour of the signature stamp to match the image more. To the original image I increased the contrast and saturation in Camera Raw to make it contrast more against the white border.

Leave a Reply

