Bannack Best – Bannack Ghost Town

Warm stairs; Oct-17-2012; 2:00pm; Bannack, MT; f/7; 1/10 sec; Tripod; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Original – correct exposure.

Underexposed.

Overexposed.

I created this image using bracketing and HDR and put the three exposures together using Photomatix. I really like the warm colours and the patterned tiles showing up on the stairs.

Side Window; Oct-17-2012; 12:00pm; Bannack, MT; f/8; 1/80 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

This is not a HDR photo but has a similar feel.     I made some minor adjustments in Camera Raw, increasing the exposure and shadows slightly. I like the contrast of the walls side to the image captured in the window reflection.

Lone Chair; Oct-17-2012; 1:00pm; Bannack, MT; f/11; 1/160 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Original.

This is a one shot HDR with the help of Photomatix. The original was very dark and underexposed, which worked really well in photomatix as I was able to bring out the colours more. I used the spot healing rush in Photoshop to remove a few unwanted marks.

Loaded Chair; Oct-17-2012; 1:30pm; Bannack, MT; f/5.3; 1/1250 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Some classmates set up this scene in the Saloon. I really like this composition and the moodiness to the scene. In Camera Raw I increased the red saturation and lighted the exposure slightly.

Original; Oct-17-2012; 11:00pm; Bannack, MT; f/5.6; 1/40 sec; Extension Tubes; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Sepia Image.

I loved the colour of the original photo, but wanted to see what it looked like in Sepia. I changed the colours to Sepia in Lightroom, using one of their presets. i liked the sepia colouring better in Lightroom than Photoshop.

Barbers Chair; Oct-17-2012; 11:00pm; Bannack, MT; f/13; 1/25 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Barbers Chair converted to black and white.

The famous Bannack Barbers Chair!! I converted the original into black and white in Camera Raw using the grey scale converter. In Camera Raw I also adjusted the exposure and reds (the colour of the chairs seating) to make it contrast more against the background.

One thought on “Bannack Best – Bannack Ghost Town

  1. Your photos are great. You caught great moments and they are awesome. I like how you edited the photos. You are an amazing photographer so keep up the good work. I think your photos great. Good job.

Leave a Reply

