Portraits – Bannack Ghost Town

Portrait; Oct-17-2012; 3:00pm; Bannack, MT; f/5.6; 1/60 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Portrait; Oct-17-2012; 3:00pm; Bannack, MT; f/6.3; 1/60 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Portrait; Oct-17-2012; 4:00pm; Bannack, MT; f/5.6; 1/60 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Portrait; Oct-17-2012; 3:30pm; Bannack, MT; f/4.3; 1/50 sec; Nikon D5100 – Kirsty Cain

Here are some of the portraits I took this week at Bannack Ghost Town. I experimented with different lighting techniques. On the first image I used natural window light together with studio lighting. The second I used just window lighting and a reflector. For the third image I used my fill flash, reduced to -1.7 so the shadows were not so harsh – I think I would have liked this image even more if there were less shadows behind him on the steps. The fourth image had light boxes set up. This was my first experience using this kind of lighting and I would like to practice a little more with it, as I feel I spent most of the time looking at my camera trying to adjust the settings!

Leave a Reply

